Billy The Kid, Rest In Peace

Bill Gonillo

I’m 35. He was 44. He called me “Kid” every time we spoke. I starting doing the same to him in recent months. I wish I could do it again this afternoon.

My friend, and the ultimate friend of high school sports in Connecticut, Bill Gonillo, died over the weekend. No cause has been released yet though Bill had suffered from serious diabetic shocks in the past.

Bill’s infectious personality was matched only by his fondness for media buffets. At Channel 3, we’d often request highlight feeds of high school games Bill had shot with his News 12 camera down in Fairfield and New Haven counties. He never said no, seemingly putting his own work deadlines and needs in minor jeopardy to make sure we got what we needed. He never said no and he never asked for anything in return. I always tried to even things out with Bill but never managed to do it. There may never be a more decent, genuine person to cover the local sports scene in Connecticut.

The last couple years at the end of the football season, I sent a small token of my appreciation down to Bill for the help he had given WFSB. He later told our producer that he was uncomfortable accepting the gifts and that I didn’t need to do it anymore. Classic Gonillo. All give and no take. In some ways, I wish Bill had cared more about the one person who always seemed to be last on his list of importance: Himself.

Just last Thursday, Bill made an unsolicited call to me at work to offer us video of Weston’s win over New Milford. The victory broke a 21-game losing streak for Weston and Bill was genuinely excited to spread the news. He called again Friday with details of first year program Platt Tech returning its’ first ever kickoff for a touchdown. That’s the last time we spoke.

The media experience of attending sporting events in Connecticut won’t ever be the same without Bill’s presence.

I am honored that I was worthy of his friendship. Kid, I will miss you in a huge way.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment